Published on 02/23/16

Robert Beckstead receives Russell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

By Camie Williams

Robert Beckstead, an associate professor of poultry science in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, has received a University of Georgia Richard B. Russell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching — one of the highest honors given at the university.

"The recipients of this year's Russell Awards demonstrate how innovative teaching can engage and inspire students," said Pamela Whitten, senior vice president for academic affairs and provost, whose office administers the award. "Their exemplary dedication to students helps distinguish the University of Georgia as one of the nation's leading public research universities."

First presented in the 1991-1992 academic year, the prize was established by the Russell Foundation and named for Richard B. Russell. This spring, and in conjunction with the 15th anniversary of the awards, the Russell Foundation increased the prize amount to $7,500.

Beckstead, who joined UGA's faculty in 2007, developed three courses to help students understand concepts integral to the modern poultry science industry, including a popular course on the relationship between culture and agriculture that has been accepted into the university's world languages and culture, humanities and the arts core curriculum.

Beckstead received a 2015 First-Year Odyssey Seminar Teaching Award and was selected as his college's Outstanding Faculty Advisor and as a UGA Outstanding Faculty Advisor in 2015. He is an adviser to the undergraduate Poultry Science Club and the Poultry Science Graduate Student Organization.

He served as a 2010-2012 Lilly Teaching Fellow and received the 2010 Poultry Science Association Early Career Teaching Award and the 2011 H.L. Marks Award for Teaching Excellence.

Beckstead was one of three exemplary UGA instructors to receive a Richard B. Russell Award this year.

Kimberly Skobba, an assistant professor of financial planning, housing and consumer economics in the College of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Zachary Wood, an associate professor of biochemistry and molecular biology in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, were also given Russell Awards.

Skobba has translated her previous experience working in the nonprofit housing sector to engage students in topics such as nonprofit fundraising, program evaluation and policy research. She recently co-taught UGA's first class on the tiny house movement, and she leads service-learning courses each year that impact her students and the community. She is the faculty adviser for H.O.U.S.E., the Housing Organization for Undergraduate Student Enhancement.

Wood has designed innovative tools to help students master complicated concepts in biochemistry. He creates "virtual study groups" through a cloud-computing platform to engage in voluntary discussions with students on their own time, and when he discovered that many students lacked the prerequisite knowledge needed to grasp the curriculum, he began working with Honors students to create a student-authored textbook that explains concepts useful to understanding the material. Wood has trained and mentored more than 24 undergraduate students in research since he joined UGA's faculty in 2007.

To learn more about the Russell Awards and for a list of past winners, see

Public Relations Coordinator Academic Affairs and Provost Office

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.
Download Image