Published on 08/01/01

47 Winners Highlight State 4-H Congress

Georgia 4-H'ers selected 47 new state winners during the 59th annual State 4-H Congress in Atlanta July 24-27.

"State 4-H Congress brings the best of the best together," said Roger C. "Bo" Ryles, state 4-H program leader. "These young people have already distinguished themselves as leaders and winners. State 4-H Congress provides a showcase for their accomplishments as well as a chance to thank those who make 4-H successful through their donations of time and resources."

Following the July 25 competition, the 4-H'ers toured metro Atlanta, meeting with donors, state legislators and corporate leaders. A July 26 banquet honored the state winners. During the banquet, Lt. Gov. Mark Taylor was recognized with the 2001 Friend of 4-H Award for his support of 4-H.

Georgia 4-H is the youth education component of the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. State Congress is the culmination of a year's work in a 4-H project. 4-H'ers prepare a portfolio of their project work, participate in an interview about their portfolio and give an oral presentation for this statewide competition.

Here are this year's state winners, listed by county, with their project and the project sponsor:

Bacon - Bryan Wade, plant and soil science, Georgia Plant Food Educational Society.

Baker - Thomas Jordan, forest resources and wood science, International Paper.

Bleckley - Beau Bryan, performing arts (piano), Six Flags; Kristen Porter, dairy foods, Georgia 4-H Foundation; Lauren Ledbetter, Teen Leader III, Georgia Farm Bureau.

Butts - Anna Daniel, sheep, Georgia 4-H Foundation.

Charlton - Courtney Thornton, public speaking, AgSouth Farm Credit.

Clarke - Kristin Felton, communications, Georgia 4-H Foundation.

Colquitt - Elton Baldy, veterinary science, Georgia Veterinary Medical Association.

Columbia - Mandi Campbell, work force preparation and career development, Georgia Development Authority; Laurel O'Neal, dog care and training, GVMA.

Coweta - Cole Beatenbough, target sports, Callaway Foundation and the family of Col. Jim Boddie; Cody Disque, wildlife and marine science, Georgia Power.

Crawford - Matthew Williams, power and energy, Chevron.

Dougherty - Timothy Hardwick, general performing arts, Six Flags.

Effingham - Hanna Dasher, the international project, Georgia 4-H Foundation; Ashby Graham, bread, White Lily Foods; Patsy Smith, food safety and preservation, Savannah Foods and Industries.

Elbert - Whitney Fields, human development, Georgia 4-H Foundation.

Evans - Heidi Hammack, resource management, Georgia Cooperative Council; Steven Spandle, flowers, shrubs and lawns, Georgia Development Authority.

Floyd - James Lanier, general recreation, Georgia Recreation and Parks Association.

Forsyth - SallieBottom, fruits, vegetables and nuts, Griffin Corporation.

Franklin - Will Cabe, beef, Winn-Dixie and Georgia Cattlemen's Association.

Gordon - Hilary Munro, Teen Leader III, Georgia Farm Bureau.

Grady - A.J. Childs, outdoor recreation, White Water.

Gwinnett - Justin Freeman, sports, White Water.

Harris - Matthew Johnson, safety, Atlanta Gas Light.

Jeff Davis - Luke Thrift, consumer education, Atlanta Gas Light.

Jones - Amanda Pratt, the horse project, Georgia Horse Council.

Lowndes - Stacia Watkins, vocal performing arts, Six Flags.

Lumpkin - Natasha Cowie, environmental science, Georgia Propane Gas Association.

Macon - Lynzie McKenzie, photography, Georgia 4-H Foundation.

Marion - Gina Widner, entomology, Georgia Pest Control Association and UGA Extension entomology department.

Montgomery - Sharon Taylor, pork production, Georgia Pork Producers.

Morgan - Candace Coats, food fare, Savannah Foods and Industries; Tiffany Harvey, dairy and milk science, Georgia Milk Commission.

Pickens - Georgia Edwards, food funds, Georgia 4-H Foundation; Chris Jones, food for fitness, Savannah Foods and Industries; Erica Wilmarth, clothing and textiles, Southern Polytechnic State University.

Pulaski - Nathan Fauscett, instrumental performing arts, Six Flags; Tia Roberts, fashion revue, Georgia Master 4-H Club.

Richmond - Raymond Chow, physical, biological and earth sciences, Georgia EMC.

Spalding - Matthew Wilson, poultry and egg science, Georgia Poultry Federation.

Stephens - Ashley Poole, conservation of natural resources, Georgia Water Wise Council; Mary Rosenkrans, health, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta.

Tift - Anna Clegg, housing, furnishings and design, Georgia Manufactured Housing Association.

Walton - Lewis Byrne, arts and crafts, Georgia 4-H Foundation; Jeremy Scoggins, computers, Georgia Power.

Faith Peppers is the director of public affairs with the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.